AAP tsunami sweeps through district, wins record 13 Assembly seats: The Tribune India


Tribune press service

Nitin Jain

Ludhiana, March 10

The Aam Aadmi Second Party (AAP) made history by winning a record 13 of 14 Assembly constituencies in the tsunami that swept through Ludhiana district on Thursday.

While the SAD was able to retain the Dakha seat, the Congress, Lok Insaaf Party (LIP), BJP and Sanyukt Samaj Morcha (SSM) were completely decimated by not even opening their accounts in the district.

AAP won the Khanna, Samrala, Sahnewal, Ludhiana East, Ludhiana South, Atam Nagar, Ludhiana Central, Ludhiana West, Ludhiana North, Gill, Payal, Raikot and Jagraon Vidhan Sabha segments.

The two district cabinet ministers, Bharat Bhushan Ashu in Ludhiana West and Gurkirat Singh Kotli in Khanna, three former cabinet ministers Akali Sharanjit Singh Dhillon (incumbent MP) in Sahnewal, Maheshinder Singh Grewal in Ludhiana West and Hira Singh Gabria in Ludhiana South, four former bureaucrats Kuldeep Singh Vaid Bulara (incumbent MP) in Gill, retired IAS officer Sucha Ram Ladhar in Gill, retired PCS officer and former MP Akali Shiv Ram Kaler in Jagraon and the Retired IRS officer Dr Jagtar Singh of Raikot, and the Sanyukt Samaj Morcha (SSM) supremo and his chief ministerial face Balbir Singh Rajewal in Samrala, were among the stalwarts who bit the dust. The son of Congress MP Fatehgarh Sahib, Dr. Amar Singh, Kamil Amar Singh, also lost his first election in Raikot. However, AAP Deputy Opposition Leader Sarvjit Kaur Manuke was the only bigwig to retain his seat in the Jagraon Assembly constituency.

Congress remained the biggest loser by retaining none of the eight seats it won in 2017. While the AAP emerged as the biggest winner taking its total of three in 2017 (reduced to 1 after the one of its MPs, Harvinder Singh Phoolka left Dakha in 2017 and the other Jagtar Singh Jagga Hissowal in Raikot moved to Congress ahead of the elections) to 13 in 2022, SAD slipped two seats (won Sahnewal in 2017 and added Dakha in 2019 bypoll) to one by winning the seat of Dakha.

LIP also suffered a blow with its two MLA brothers twice – founder Simarjeet Singh Bains and Balvinder Singh Bains – even losing their security deposits in Atam Nagar and Ludhiana South.

The BJP, which fought assembly elections separately for the first time after splitting from the SAD over controversial farm bills, blanked for the second consecutive time after 2017. Rakesh Pandey in Ludhiana North, four once Congress MP Amrik Singh Dhillon, who rebelled after being denied a party ticket and contested as an independent in Samrala, and three times lawmaker Surinder Kumar Dawar in Ludhiana Central.

Two women win

Sarvjit Kaur Manuke and Rajinder Pal Kaur of AAP are the two women nominees who won the elections from Jagraon and Ludhiana South respectively. Still, the 10 women candidates have bitten the dust.

12 beginners

With the exception of Sarvjit Kaur Manuke and Manpreet Singh Ayali, who won their second and third elections respectively, the other 12 district winners are rookies, most of them defectors, with the majority of Congress moving to the PAA.

The highest and the lowest

While the highest margin of victory of 57,288 votes was recorded by AAP’s Jiwan Singh Sangowal, who finished second in 2017, de Gill, two-time SAD MLA Manpreet Singh Ayali retained Dakha with the smallest win difference of 5807 votes. .

The youngest and the oldest

While AAP’s Tarunpreet Singh Sond became the district’s youngest MP at the age of 38, AAP’s Hakam Singh Thekedear is the oldest winner at 66.


Congress finished second in seven segments – Sahnewal, Ludhiana East, Atam Nagar, Ludhiana West, Payal, Dakha and Raikot, while SAD nominees finished second in four seats – Khanna, Samrala, Gill and Jagraon. The BJP made its presence felt by securing second place in three constituencies – Ludhiana Central and Ludhiana North and Ludhiana South.

History of AAP scripts

The AAP made history by winning 13 seats in the Assembly, which no other political party in the history of Ludhiana had ever won. Until 2007, Ludhiana District had 12 Vidhan Sabha constituencies, but following delimitation in 2009, the number of seats increased to 14 since the 2012 assembly elections.

Congress fares worst

Ludhiana had until now remained a stronghold of Congress and SAD. Congress, which won eight seats in 2017, six in 2012, five in 2007, eight in 2002, three in 1997 and had the best performance winning 10 seats in the 1992 Assembly elections, did the worst in 2022 getting zero.

DC, CP thank constituents, staff

District Electoral Officer-Deputy Commissioner Varinder Kumar Sharma and Police Commissioner Gurpreet Singh Bhullar thanked the voters and civilian and police personnel for ensuring a free, fair, transparent and peaceful conduct of the Punjab Assembly polls in the district of Ludhiana.

Prominent losers

Cabinet ministers Bharat Bhushan Ashu and Gurkirat Singh Kotli, former ministers Akali Sharanjit Singh Dhillon and Maheshinder Singh Grewal, four former bureaucrats Kuldeep Singh Vaid Bulara, Sucha Ram Ladhar, Shiv Ram Kaler and five-time longest-serving MP Dr. Jagtar Singh Congressman Rakesh Pandey, four-time Congressman turned rebel Amrik Singh Dhillon and three-time Congressman Surinder Kumar Dawar

Forfeited collateral

The security deposit of Industry Minister Gurkirat Singh Kotli in Khanna, SSM supremo Balbir Singh Rajewal, four-time Congress MP turned rebel Amrik Singh Dhillon in Samrala, two-time LIP MP Balvinder Singh Bains and former minister Akali Hira Singh Gabria in Ludhiana South, two-time MLA and founder of LIP Simarjeet Singh Bains and former MP Akali Harish Rai Dhanda in Atam Nagar, former minister Akali Maheshinder Singh Grewal in Ludhiana West, retired IAS officer Sucha Ram Ladhar of BJP in Gill, and seated AAP MP from Raikot Jagtar Singh Jagga Hissowal, who fought on the Congress ticket, in Jagraon.

The winners

Source link


Comments are closed.