IRS Further Extends Hurricane Ida Tax Filing Deadlines


You must like this news if you live in any of the six states affected by Hurricane Ida. In September, the IRS extended the October 15 tax filing deadline to Jan. 3, 2022 for victims of Ida. But now, victims of Hurricane Ida in six states have until February 15, 2022 to file various personal and business income tax returns and make tax payments. The updated relief covers all of the states of Louisiana and Mississippi, as well as parts of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania. The current list of eligible localities is always available on the Around the Nation part of the disaster relief page on The updated relief extends various tax filing and payment deadlines that have occurred from dates that vary by state:

  1. August 26, 2021 for Louisiana,
  2. August 28, 2021 for Mississippi,
  3. August 31, 2021 for Pennsylvania and
  4. September 1, 2021 for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

As a result, affected individuals and businesses will have until February 15, 2022 to file returns and pay taxes that have been originally due during this period. This means that people who had a valid extension to file their 2020 return which expired on October 15, 2021, will now have until February 15, 2022 to file. The IRS noted, however, that since the tax payments related to these 2020 returns were due on May 17, 2021, these payments are not eligible for this relief.

The extended February 15 deadline also applies to estimated quarterly income tax payments that were due on September 15, 2021 and January 18, 2022. This means that taxpayers in those regions can now ignore their estimated tax payments. for the third and fourth quarters of 2021 and include them instead when filing their 2021 return. The February 15 deadline also applies to quarterly wages and excise tax returns normally due on November 1 2021 and January 31, 2022. Companies with an original or extended due date also have an additional deadline including, among other things, the calendar – one-year partnerships and S companies whose 2020 extensions expired on September 15 2021, and calendar year companies whose 2020 extensions expired on October 15, 2021. This also applies to organizations exempt from tax for the calendar year whose 2020 extensions ran for release on November 15, 2021.

the IRS disaster relief The page contains details of other qualifying returns, payments and tax actions for the extra time. The IRS automatically provides reporting and penalty relief to any taxpayer with an IRS registration address located in the disaster area. Therefore, taxpayers do not need to contact the IRS to obtain this relief. However, if an affected taxpayer receives a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS that has an original or extended filing, payment or filing due date that falls within the deferral period, the taxpayer must call the number on the notice to have the penalty decreased.

In addition, the IRS will work with any taxpayer residing outside the disaster area but whose records necessary to meet a deadline that arose during the deferral period are located in the affected area. Taxpayers eligible for assistance who live outside the disaster area should contact the IRS at 866-562-5227. This also includes workers attending relief activities who are affiliated with a recognized government or philanthropic organization. Individuals and businesses in a federally declared disaster area that have suffered uninsured or unreimbursed disaster-related losses can choose to claim them either on the declaration of the year the loss occurred (in in this case, the 2021 return normally filed next year), or the return for the previous year (2020). See Publication 547 for details.

Source link


Comments are closed.