Mississippi Residents Eligible for Hurricane Ida Disaster Unemployment Assistance


JACKSON, Mississippi (WLOX) – The Mississippi Department of Employment Security announced Friday that Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is now available for Mississippi residents who were affected by the hurricane Ida.

People who live or work in one of the affected counties and were unable to work due to major destruction from August 28, 2021 to September 1, 2021 due to Hurricane Ida are entitled to assistance.

Each claim will be reviewed to determine eligibility to receive DUA.

The following counties are available for assistance:

  • Amite
  • Hancock
  • Harrison
  • Jackson
  • Pearl River
  • Pike
  • Walthall
  • Wilkinson

DUA is available for people who:

  • Self-employed workers, who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster.
  • Became the main maintainer of a household due to the death of the head of the household linked to the disaster.
  • Cannot work due to injury caused directly by Ida.
  • Those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster.
  • Those who could not join their work because the storm prevented them from traveling or who had to start working, but the disaster prevented them from doing so.

If you want to apply, click here, or call toll free 601-493-9428 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday.

The deadline to apply is November 29, 2021.

Copyright 2021 WLOX. All rights reserved.

Source link


Leave A Reply